Regional Associations

How can you be more involved in your own community of teachers of English?

The answer is to join an already existing regional association or create a new one. So that you are supported in your profession, NZATE encourages the development of regionally based associations for the teaching of English.

The list of contact associations and contact people listed below is always changing. We would appreciate information to ensure that this list is kept up-to-date. Please contact us with any details we need to update. Please click on the Association nearest to you for further information and contact details

TTATE
(Tai Tokerau)

Tai Tokerau Association of Teachers of English

Secretary: Catherine Martin
catherinem@tikihigh.school.nz

AATEL
(Auckland)

Provides PLD and support for English teachers in Auckland  Contact: Richard Watkinson
richard@teachfirstnz.org

NARATE
(Auckland – North Shore)

North Auckland Regional Association for the Teaching of English

SAATE
(South Auckland)

South Auckland Association for Teachers of English

Chair: Desire Truter
D.Truter@edgewater.school.nz

Secretary: Jo Sanson
SA@waiuku-college.school.nz

WELTA
(Waikato)

Waikato English Language Teachers’ Association

Contact: Julie Scott
Scottzjj@hotmail.com

Treasurer: Margaret Black
bk@melville-high.school.nz

HBETA
(Hawke’s Bay)

Hawkes Bay English Teachers’ Association

Treasurer: Karen Beaumont
karenbeaumont@karamu.school.nz

Secretary: William Barnes
brn@hnhs.school.nz

CREATE
(Central North Island)

Central Region Association of Teachers’ of English

Contact:

BATE/EPOBATE
(Bay of Plenty)

Bay of Plenty / Eastern Bay of Plenty

PETA
(North Island Plateau)

Plateau English Teachers’ Association

Contact:

WRATE

(Wellington)

Wellington Regional Association of Teachers’ of English

Contact: Mark Edgecumbe
medgecombe@tawacollege.school.nz

NETA

(Nelson)

Nelson English Teachers’ Association

Chair: Abbie Wright
abbiewright@cloud.garincollege.ac.nz

Treasurer: Nich Campbell
nich.campbell@motuekahigh.school.nz

Secretary: Jo Marris
jo.marris@ncg.school.nz

Waitaha English
(Canterbury)

Canterbury English Teachers’ Association

Chair: Caroline Black

Treasurer: Megan Taylor

Secretary: Chris Rayward

Contact: 

hello@waitahaenglish.com www.waitahaenglish.com

OATE
(Otago)

Otago Association of English Teachers

Chair: Ella Murdoch
ella.murdoch@mcglashan.school.nz

Secretary: David Schaumann
dsc@mcglashan.school.nz

SETA
(Southland)

Southland English Teachers’ Association

COATE
(Central Otago)

Central Otago Association of Teachers of English

President: Jennifer Smart
jsmart@wakatipu.school.nz

Treasurer: Ruth Needham
rneedham@wakatipu.school.nz

WETA
(West Coast)

West Coast English Teachers’ Association

Chair: Sandra Quick
quicks@greyhigh.school.nz

TETA
(Taranaki)

Contact: Vicki McIvor vicki.mcivor@inglewoodhs.school.nz

SCETA
(South Canterbury)

Ella Wright, Craighead Diocesan School, Timaru
wrightel@craighead.school.nz